The course is split into 9 sections, as listed below:

Section 1 The Course Specification

Section 2 Getting Started

2.1 Common errors

2.2 Punctuation rules and conventions

2.3 Spelling

2.4 Nouns, adjectives, verbs and adverbs

2.5 Sentence structure

2.6 Paragraphing

2.7 Presentation of essays

Section 3 Paper 2 Reading Passages

3.1 Analysing a passage

3.2 Writing to review

3.3 Writing to comment

3.4 Different types of texts

3.5 Terms you need to know

3.6 Newspapers

3.7 Audience

3.8 Purpose

3.9 Layout

3.10 Language

3.11 Writing a summary

Section 4 Paper 3 Directed Writing and Composition

4.1 Planning

4.2 Writing to inform

4.3 Writing to explain

4.4 Writing to describe

4.5 Writing a story

4.6 Writing to discuss

4.7 Writing to persuade

4.8 Writing to advise

Section 5 Past Papers

Section 6 Tips for Taking the Exams

Section 7 Further Reading

Section 8 Passages for Tutor Marked Assignments

Section 9 Tutor Marked Assignments

The course contains a number of assignments which your tutor will mark and give you valuable feedback on. We call these Tutor Marked Assignments (TMAs). You need only send the TMAs to your tutor for comment, not the self-assessment exercises which are also part of the course to help you gauge your progress.

In order to receive the full IGCSE qualification you will be required to sit two exam papers in an official exam centre.